Publishing an Audit
Once you’ve completed or edited an audit and tested thoroughly, click ‘Publish’. If you have publish permissions, the audit will update for all students currently using it. If not, the admin in charge of publishing will get a notification. They will then be able to validate the audit and publish.
There are three publishing tasks that need to complete before an audit is fully published. You'll see a loading circle while the task is in progress, and a green check mark when each task is complete. Audit publishing time depends on the complexity of the audit, and the number of students to which it applies.
Things to remember when publishing an audit:
- We recommend testing several students before publishing. Try to test on students who are close to complete, and those who have unusual plans or unique cases.
- Testing the audit only tests for the specific program of that audit. This means that if you are testing a major audit, and classes could double-count between that major and a minor, the double-counting will not be tested.
- Changing or updating an audit will remove the exceptions in that audit for any student. If you change the minor audit, only the minor exceptions will be removed, the major will be unaffected.
- Refrain from publishing audits during peak hours. Publishing an audit would enforce rebuilding audit for all affected students – including the ones that are currently active – and can make the user experience slow and unpleasant.
- Refrain from editing or copying an audit while the publishing tasks are in process. This can result in lost work, so please wait until the audit has completed publishing before working on it.
Deleting an Audit
If you have edit permissions on an audit, you'll also have permissions to delete audit versions. This can be handy if an audit was created by mistake, or as a test. Generally, we recommend that you make changes to an audit version rather than deleting. You can always update the audit criteria so that it applies to 0 students, rather than deleting all the information.
For times when you need to delete, simply click the 'delete version' button. If the audit is applied to students, you'll get a warning message that exceptions and placeholders in student plans (with this audit) will be removed. In the same pop-up box, you can choose to apply a different audit version for these students.
Once an audit is deleted, it cannot be recovered. Please use caution when deleting!